Running Shoes

10 Sep

07:00. Beep! Beep! Beep! Startled and dazed I search for an off switch for that incessant noise. It can’t be that time yet, I tell myself. The sun is beginning to pierce through the crack in my curtains, and into my eyes. With this seed of morning energy planted in my retina, my brain can start to function. Running shoes, that’s what I need.

Down the stairs I stumble and into those shoes my feet are squeezed. Comfortable and snug, they fit me and they will carry me on this morning’s journey. Out of the door and the world is at my feet. One step, two steps, speed increasing with each attempt. The fresh, biting breeze makes thousands of tiny nips across my skin, waking me up one goosebump at a time.

It’s been too long since my running shoes felt the earth pounding beneath them, and my pulse increases rapidly. Breathless and beginning to tire far too soon, I listen to my footsteps. The rhythm will drive me home, my running shoes can take me anywhere.

2 Responses to “Running Shoes”

  1. hemingwayrun September 10, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Very well written!

    • francesclarke07 September 10, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

