The End Is Nigh…

20 Dec

The Mayan 2012 Prediction

The ancient Mayans predicted the end of the world would come tomorrow, and although I’ve often heard the motto, “Live every day as if it’s your last,” I sure as hell can’t truthfully say I’ve always done that. Tomorrow is a word I often take for granted, as I melt into my duvets and pillows every night, no fears for whether I will wake up to the same life tomorrow ever enter my dreams. But what if it was our last day? What if tomorrow did bring our mortal existence to a final close?

I’d like to be able to say that if I knew tomorrow would be the end, I would spend today sky diving, swimming with dolphins, climbing a mountain or at least partying, drinking and eating with my closest friends and family. But I wouldn’t, because I will never believe it is the end of the world. Atheists may say they believe there is nothing after death, but how can that be? The world is so magical, there must be a little magic that keeps a spark of something alive after our physical bodies are long gone? I’m not particularly religious, but I find it hard to believe that there is nothing more to us than flesh and blood.

So although tomorrow might be the end of the world, I’m not going to live as though it is, because I find it hard to believe it ever will be. I intend to enjoy my life and do the best I can in everything I ever do, but what a terrified and anxious life one would live if you were always afraid of the end? One day it will come for us all, but let’s just hope it takes us by surprise and that we go out with a sparkling bang, just like we magnificently came in.

The End of the World: Inevitable but thankfully not predictable

Leave a Reply

