Book Reviews: Khaled Hosseini’s ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’

17 Jun

What a Summer this has been so far for reading!

I’ve been hearing all about Khaled Hosseini’s new book, And The Mountain’s Echoed, and it made me realise I had not yet got round to reading A Thousand Splendid Suns. I had read The Kite Runner, so was aware of Hosseini’s captivating story telling ability on often sensitive and harrowing subject matter.

A Thousand Splendid Suns tells a tale which seems so distant from my own life, but, through Hosseini’s intimately personal account, is lodged into a crevice in my own heart. I found myself feeling passionately relating to the girls who, younger than myself, were forced into situations that no woman should ever have to suffer. Hosseini’s talent is his ability to make the truth of a turbulent country believable to a Western audience. Presenting facts and figures can only do so much, but presenting people like ourselves, with thoughts, emotions and instincts like ourselves, in dire situations is what makes Pakistan come to life for us once and for all.

Words can paint pictures when crafted by the correct artist, and Khaled Hosseini is certainly nothing short of this as he depicts tales which seem to come from the darkest depths of his own heart. A writer who allows himself to reveal something so tender from himself risks everything, but Hosseini certainly won this time.

An unforgettable read, I cannot wait to get my mitts on And The Mountain’s Echoed now!

2 Responses to “Book Reviews: Khaled Hosseini’s ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’”

  1. ileneonwords June 17, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Read A Thousand Splendid Suns as soon as it came out and I enjoyed it…of course had read The Kite Runner and loved that. Recently read his latest, And the Mountains Echoed and do understand why lovers of Hosseini’s books would want to read his latest, like I did…but…was disappointed…too convoluted. You might enjoy a book I read about 11 years ago…The Hero’s Walk by Anita Rau Badami. Enjoy your reading!

    • francesclarke07 June 17, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

      Sad to hear you weren’t as impressed with his new book, it’s always especially disappointing when so much expectation is put onto a book from previously enjoyed books by the same author. I think I will still give And the Mountains Echoed a try, but thank you so much for the recommendation! I will look it up and let you know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

