My Venetian Summer

1 Aug

This Summer for me will always be defined as the one where I had my first taste of Italy. It is not what I would define as a city, but more accurately, a maze that can lead you into the history of romance and beauty in the most perfect juxtapositions of old and new, splendour and decay. I intend to write a poem about Venice, because that is what you have to do. Perhaps I’ll write a love poem for it… Because that is what I did, I fell in love with it. For now, here are some pictures of my travels. From the beauty of these amateur photos, I could never do the place justice.

Dreamy Sunsets

Dreamy Dusk in Venice

 

Traditions that still live on...

Traditions that still live on.. The only way to travel around the city in style

 

Me on the bridge that Katherine Hepburn stood upon in 'Summertime'

Me on the bridge that Katherine Hepburn stood upon in ‘Summertime’

Katherine Hepburn on the bridge!

Katherine Hepburn on the bridge!

 

Some of the decay and graffiti had a certain charm..

Some of the decay and graffiti had a certain charm..

 

Goodnight Venice <3

Goodnight Venice ❤

 

I can’t wait to explore more of Italy, now that I’ve had such a wonderful introductory taster! (And that especially includes the ice cream that I did not limit myself on – I was on holiday!) Until next time, farewell Venice.

2 Responses to “My Venetian Summer”

  1. createdbyrcw August 1, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    That’s when you know you’ve fallen for a place; when even the graffiti is adorable or charming.

    In some ways, it’s like love for another human being, when even their quirks are adorable (for now).

    Lovely images…don’t put your efforts down…you have a great eye….Randy

    • francesclarke07 August 1, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      Absolutely, true love includes warts and all!

      Thanks for the comment about the pictures, glad they could do some justice for the place 🙂

      Frances

Leave a Reply

